Advertizing’s 15 Basic Appeals (by Jib Fowles)

I have always found it interesting how writers go about creating captivating and tantalizing advertisements. But, I never fully understood the appeals writers will use when designing these ads. I knew about sex appeal, the need for attention and the need for nurture and guidance, but I was not aware of the appeals to dominance, prominence, aggress or escape. What I found most interesting was that only 2 percent of the television ads he surveyed used sex appeal. I would have thought it would have been a much higher number, but, as was stated in the article, it may be too blatant of an appeal, and may detract from the actual product in the advertisement. I also found it telling that the most used appeal is the need for affiliation, clearly, Americans are very concerned with conformity and being included, and advertisers take advantage of this.

Leave a Reply

